OFFICIAL MINUTES

JUNE 02, 2011, 24th DAY OF THE APRIL ADJOURNED TERM

The County Commission met in the Commissioner's Hearing Room at 9:03 am with Ron Houseman, Jim Strafuss and Danny Strahan present. The following proceedings were had and made a matter of record:

EXECUTIVE SESSION – LITIGATION, REAL ESTATE, PERSONAL & CONTRACTS PER SECTION 610.021 (1), (2), (3) & (12)

Commissioner Strafuss moved to go into Executive Session pursuant to RSMo 610.021 (1), (2), (3) & (12). Commissioner Strahan seconded the motion. The motion passed by roll call vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (aye).

EXECUTIVE SESSION 9:04 AM

See Executive Session minutes for actions if any.

Commissioner Strafuss moved to postpone to a definite time, 2:15 pm, the Executive Session pursuant to RSMo 610.021 (1), (2), (3) & (12). Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by roll call vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (aye).

OUT OF EXECUTIVE 1:07 PM

Commissioner Strahan left during the Executive Session at 12:22 pm due to illness.

AGENDA REQUESTS REVIEW

The Commission reviewed the agenda requests with Nikki.

COUNTY BOARD APPOINTMENT

Commissioner Strafuss moved to appoint Rick Treese to the Planning & Zoning Board (Swan Township). Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

The Library Board was established as a five member board with one one-year term vacancy, two two-year term vacancies and two four-year term vacancies.

Commissioner Strafuss moved to appoint Harry Styron to a one-year term to the Library Board, to appoint James Babcock to a two-year term and to appoint Roxanne Young to a two-year term.

Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

The Airport Board was established as a seven member board with a staggered 4 year term.

Commissioner Strafuss moved to reappoint Mark Trimble, Dave Woolery, Phil Loyd, Jim Youngblood, and Joe Hall to the Airport Board with a calculated term. Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

Commissioner Strafuss moved to reappoint Glen Cameron to his unexpired term on the Airport Board. Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE UPDATE & LETTERS

Mr. Bob Atchley with Planning & Zoning addressed the Commission regarding the two flooding events. As flood plain manager, his department had made a preliminary property assessment to determine damage.

Bob gave two letters to the Commission. They had been drafted to allow owners to give more detailed information if they disagreed with the assessment within a set timeframe. One letter stated that property may have had substantial damage; the second letter stated property had not received substantial damage. The process of damage calculation was provided by FEMA.

Funds Hazard Mitigation Grant program, Buyout Program, the National Flood Insurance program and ICC funding was discussed. Commissioner Strafuss suggested they gather more information and have a meeting to present it for discussion.

TANEY COUNTY NATURAL HAZARD MITIGATION PLAN LETTER

The Hollister School Board had been omitted from the Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan and requested they be added.

Commissioner Strafuss moved to write a letter in support of the Hollister School District's resolution to be added to the Taney County Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan. Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

Commissioner Strafuss moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Houseman seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Houseman (aye), Strafuss (aye) and Strahan (absent).

ADJOURNED 2:30 PM

Minutes were taken and typed by Lyn Wieneke, Deputy Clerk.